On 29 August, composer Seung-Ah Oh won the third edition of Buma Toonzetters Prize (€10,000) with her composition JungGa, concerto for Oboe/Musette and chamber ensemble.

The jury reports that it is a work with “much energy, built on a compelling concept. It’s” Music That Matters “; a work that manages to grip the listener for in its entire duration. It is a kind of intercultural music, not an amalgamation of diverse cultures, but an entirely unique form with a fully personal thought.”

The Buma Toonzetters Prize is chosen by the international jury members to honor the best contemporary music written previous year in the Netherlands. The monitory award of €10,000 is by supported by Buma Culture. To learn more about Toonzetters prize click here.

Ernest Rombout

JungGa, concerto for oboe/musette and chamber ensemble (2009), has advanced as one of three finalists of the Toonzetters competition. Toonzetters is an annual Dutch competition that, since 2008, seeks out the best contemporary music in the Netherlands. The winner will be awarded a grand prize of €10,000.

During this exciting two-day event, all ten nominees will have their pieces performed. Please join us August 28-29 at the Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ for the free concerts!

From October 25 through October 30 2010, Seung-Ah Oh will be one of the leaders of the international workshop Omnibus Laboratorium at Tashkent, Uzbekistan. The Omnibus ensemble is the only ensemble that brings New Music to central Asia, and its annual international meeting brings together young composers from Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Azerbaijan and Armenia. Ms. Oh will give public lectures on her music and a short talk on non-Western sound and concept in contemporary music and meet young composers for private lessons. The final concert at the Ilkhom theater, Tashkent is scheduled on October 30, and will featured three of Ms. Oh’s pieces.

Amsterdam-based recorder quartet Brisk and percussionist Ramon Lormans will be premiering a new work by Seung-Ah Oh on November 6, 2010 at the Noorderkerk in Amsterdam. Following the November premiere, the quartet will perform the new work on December 3 at Vredenburg Leeuwenberg in Utrecht and as part of Brisk’s 25th Anniversary Jubilee on January 9, 2011 at De Doelen in Rotterdam.

Slagwerk Den Haag travels to New York City to sizzle the public of Bang On A Can Marathon Concert. This annual 12 hour long FREE Live music concert became one of the most exciting music events in NYC. The location is gorgeous and gigantic open space at the Winter Garden Atrium in the Worlds Financial Center. Check out more information by clicking here (schedule). DaDeRimGil is originally commissioned and premiered by the former generation of Slagwerkgroep Den Haag in 2003. Now with the new members and alternate instrumental set-ups, this will be an undoubtedly exciting and overwhelming event especially with the thousands of public.

Since its premiere in October 2008, Words and Beyond has made its way to various locations in the Netherlands and Huddersfield, England. Now it comes to Amsterdam audiences. For this special performance the entire configuration of grotezaal will be changed into a circular seating around the square stage in the main space. To learn more about the program please click here.

Words and Beyond: Hwang Jin-Yi Muziekgebouw aan ‘t Ij Zaterdag Mei 15 2010 20:15 grote zaal 19:15 Inleiding Foyer deck

Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ

For ticket purchase, please click here.

Seung-Ah Oh is named as one of ten recipients in music composition for the prestigious Guggenheim fellowship 2010.

Guggenheim Fellowships are American grants that have been awarded annually since 1925 by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation to those “who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts.

During the fellowship period, she will work on new pieces for ICE, Hexnut (NL), CME at Oberlin, new piece for guitarist Dan Lippel(US), flutist Daniel Agi(GB), and more. To read the press release, please visit click the following link. www.gf.org/news-events/press-releases/

Een nieuwe Nederlandse opera naar een oud Turks volksverhaal.

Een originele productie door de verwevenheid van de Turkse en Nederlandse cultuur en een spannende samenwerking tussen Nederlandse en Turkse professionals en amateurs. De opera vertelt het verhaal over een vrouw en een man, die tegen de zin van hun families trouwen. Hun liefde wordt tot het uiterste beproefd. Maar dan nemen de gebeurtenissen een onverwachte keer; na jaren krijgen zij op magische wijze een kindÂ… Het verhaal is door componiste Seung-Ah Oh en schrijfster Anne Vegter bewerkt tot verrassend hedendaags muziektheater.

The theme of the 2009 Nederlandse Muzidagen (Dutch Music Days) is ‘Poetry and Music’. In my new piece In den oneindige (‘In the infinity’), written for Ensemble Klang and male voice, I examine the Dutch language and how it sounds to me as a non-native speaker. The text is based on a satirical poem called SIGARET KOMT VAN ZUIG ERUIT, written by the renowned Dutch poet Ilja Leonard Pfeijffer. Ensemble Klang asked 9 non-Dutch composers who have spent a substantial amount of time in the Netherlands and one native Dutchman to work with this poem.

Ensemble Klang; Peter Scheele, Bass Baritone
Oct 11, 2:30PM @ Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ, BAM Zaal, Amsterdam