Tyler Cunningham of Arraymusic in Toronto, Canada will give the Canadian premiere of Circle for one for solo percussion.

FEBRUARY 19, 2022 @ 8PM EST

Buy tickets for webcast: https://www.tickettailor.com/events/arraymusic1/602941/

(prerecorded webcast | runtime 60 minutes)


Since its beginnings in 1972, the Array Ensemble has created and presented hundreds of new Canadian and international compositions to audiences in Toronto, across Canada, and beyond. A flexible ensemble featuring a core instrumentation of five of Toronto’s most dedicated new music performers, each Array Ensemble season balances world premieres with performances of seldom heard and classic works by established and new generation composers from a wide range of artistic and cultural perspectives.

Arraymusic’s annual Premieres concert returns after a COVID-enforced hiatus! This year’s event features an exciting set of World and Canadian premieres by acclaimed composers from Ontario and abroad.

Ontario composer Julia Mermelstein’s Capsule for bass clarinet and electronics explores the sonic intimacy of small spaces, while John Mark Sherlock (ON) transforms the hubcaps and brake drums from his trusty 1988 Chevrolet G10 van into a metal instrument constellation for his solo percussion work Ne jetez pas de corps étrangers dans les étoiles (Do not throw foreign bodies into the stars).

Bruce A. Russell contributes a yet-unheard work for solo piano, while Sheila Jaffe performs the Canadian premiere of a solo viola work by internationally acclaimed composer Oscar Bettison. Lastly, Seung Won Oh’s solo percussion piece Circle receives its overdue Canadian premiere, and Toronto’s own Amahl Arulanandam performs his own most recent work for cello and electronics.

An orchestral miniature For Louis – a homage to Louis Andriessen- will be premiered by Orchestra ESMUC conducted by maestro Ernest Martínez Izquierdo during Mixtur Festival 2021 in Barcelona. For Louis departs with the unforgettable, monumental and eerily resonating motive from Andriessen’s De Materie and ends with the De Staat’s famous opening wind call.
In the program, ESMUC also presents Doppelkonzert (Ligeti) and Modulations (Grisey).

For Louis for orchestra

October 10 2021 19:00 h

L’Auditori de Barcelona, Spain

The premiere of Vanapriya (2020), The Birds of Paradise for chamber orchestra by Insomnio Ensemble (NL).

Vanapriya is written for the Insomnio Ensemble’s bird program which includes Jonathan Harvey’s Bird Concerto with Pianosong and Finnish composer Jukka Tiensuu’s Appo. Oh expanded the inspiration from the Papua Newguine’s Birds of Paradise to the love of all creatures in the Forest.

After the premiere at the Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ Amsterdam (NL), Vanapriya will be presented at Korzo Theater (Den Haag), Tivoli-Vredenburg (Utrecht), De Link/Cenakel (Tilburg) and WoNDeRFeel festival (Hilversum). Please find the detailed information by clicking Performances/ Upcoming Performances at the top menu.